Thoughts on being a new mother


Over the past two months with A, I think I’ve learned a few lessons here and there about mothering. At least, being a mother to an infant. I have two main lists: “Things people told me about being a mother but I didn’t really understand until it happened” and “Things people don’t talk about but I ended up learning anyways.”

Things people don’t talk about but I ended up learning anyways:

  • I really, really, really like my sleep. I think I knew that already. But for some reason, I’m not super grouchy when I get up to feed A.
  • Sometimes, I really have to pee while nursing. But I can’t go because baby won’t let go. And so I have to hold it. And I just sit there wishing she would hurry on up and finish eating.
  • Changing diapers aren’t as disgusting as I thought they would be. This was probably one of my biggest hesitations in having a child. At least, for the infant phase. Poop is gross! But… baby poop is less gross?
  • Infants are actually pretty funny. I never thought they were entertaining (granted, she’s not here for my entertainment), but they really are.
  • Baby burps can be really loud (also entertaining).
  • Babies spit up a lot. And sometimes it’s a lot of spit up. Or vomiting, I guess? Which leads me to my next one…
  • I really should bring a change of clothes not just for A when we go out, but for myself as well.
  • Diapers leak.

Things people told me about being a mother but I didn’t really understand until it happened:

  • Newborn babies grow really fast. I mean, incredibly so. There are changes all the time. It’s amazing.
  • I feel like a cow.
  • There is such a thing as explosive bowel movement.
  • Babies cry a lot. A lot. Although, A isn’t too bad, relatively speaking. Still feels like a lot though.
  • Sometimes I forget what it’s like to talk to another grown person.
  • I should’ve slept when the baby slept.
  • Babies need a lot of diaper changes, thus A needs a lot of diapers. Lots. Of. Diapers.
  • Babies like to be held.

And… she’s crying again.

Say something! Make me laugh!

