Pre-Natal Ponderings


I’m writing not because I have something specific to write about. Mainly because I’ve been thinking I should. Also because the Guy is off in the garage working on a new set of stairs for our back porch and I’m kind of bored.

Being bored is a luxury. Or so I believe. Especially at this pre-infant stage of our lives. I’m sure in a few months I will wonder what it’s like to be bored. Actually, I’m not so sure. I might be on bed rest and not allowed to do very much and still be bored. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll post more often. Although… I kind of doubt it.

So, the other day a friend asked me how the tapeworm-alien is doing. Well, actually, he asked about the baby. I didn’t know how to respond, so I said, “Alive.” That’s a good answer, right? I’m pretty sure the baby is alive because I can feel it moving and stuff, and I’m not sure beyond that. Mostly because I can’t see or communicate with the baby.

The Guy and I have been learning Portuguese on Duolingo. Why Portuguese? Because I started it a long, long time ago and I didn’t really bother to pick up something new. Besides, learning another Latin based language should be easier than a completely new one, right? Although we have been mixing up our Spanish with it. I’m competing with my friend. Because you can, with points, and I’m currently losing. Sigh.

I made calzones the other day. Not from scratch. It was… okay. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t what I was imagining. Although, when the Guy asked me what reference I was using, I had to admit it was calzones from my elementary school cafeteria. We had calzones relatively recently (like… in the last year), but I couldn’t remember those, and all I could think of was how much I liked those calzones when I was a kid. I’m not sure that’s a very good reference point, though.

Like I mentioned earlier, the baby has been moving. It started the past few weeks. I discovered last week that I can actually see the baby moving in my belly. Pregnancy is so weird. It reminded me of those sci-fi movies when people have aliens in their belly and there’s something rippling in there and then suddenly BAM! AN ALIEN POPS OUT! Except maybe not so dramatic. But a little bit like that. It’s still weird that there’s something moving in me that I have absolutely no control over. Well, that’s not true. I don’t think I have very good control over my internal organs.

The Guy is done for the night. I think I’m done with this rambling post for the night too.

Say something! Make me laugh!

