New toys for my Sizzix


I’m not sure if I’ve ever written about my Sizzix. It turns out I have. Here and here.

It’s been a while since I’ve written consistently, and it’s been even longer since I first started the blog and so it seems that I have not been able to retain the topic of every single post that I’ve written. I wonder why that is. Besides, there are numerous other things that have happened that I haven’t written about that I did want to write about but after the moment passes (or weeks or months, in my case) it seems rather irrelevant to write about something that happened oh-so-way back ago. Whew. That was a mouthful.

Anyways, this post is about my Sizzix.

I haven’t pulled it out to craft with in a very long time. I haven’t crafted officially in a while, and pulling out the Sizzix to work on stuff just makes a tremendous mess that takes more energy to clean up. Well, it really isn’t that bad, but when you are in the throes of the lazy, any lifting of the finger is Too-Much-Work.

But I wanted to make some nice cards for the Guy’s two cousins who have recently graduated from the training. We’re sending them fun (I hope) gifts, so I wanted to send along some fun cards as well. I happened to be at the library last week (yes, I stepped outside of the house voluntarily), and there were some craft books on display, so I checked out a pop-up card book. There were some interesting ideas inside that I wanted to try, and so that’s what I’ve been playing around with.

I wanted to have some fun shapes to go with the cards, and I didn’t want to cut them all out by hand–because freehand scissoring is not my forte and I wanted something that could be a little more consistent. None of my stencils were the right size and the dies that I have for my Sizzix wouldn’t really work. I have a few different sets of the alphabet in various fonts, and that’s not exactly what I wanted.

Solution? Buy new toys for my Sizzix!

I haven’t bought stuff for my Sizzix in a while because dies can get expensive. Therefore, I try to only buy things that I can reuse for a variety of occasions. Otherwise… I’d hate to spend twenty dollars on something and then only use it once. What a waste.

So here’s what the Guy and I ended up buying:

WP_20140716_002

They’re called triplets. I’m not sure why. But they’re pretty fun to use. and this is what they make:

 

WP_20140716_005

Lots and lots of fun hexagon shapes. And yes, that is my Sizzix. And it is pink and black and it has rhinestones. I know. Sigh.

 

Say something! Make me laugh!

