Galloping gardens!


Sheri, Sheri, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?

Hmm. I just looked up the original nursery rhyme and the context is supposedly religious history in England! I like.

So I have a garden! It used to kind of look like this:

gravel pit

 

We don’t have the play set. This is not-quite-obviously an outdated Google street view picture. The previous owners took that with them. But if you look really, really, really, carefully, you’ll see that by the shed there’s a wooden frame thing on the ground. And it used to be filled with gravel. According to our neighbors, who have lived here forever, the gravel pit was there before the previous owners bought the house. It’s like a sandbox, except filled with gravel. I’m not sure that would be lots of fun to play in, but who knows.

I personally really didn’t like the gravel pit, because I was positive it was filled with animal feces, which was an altogether unpleasant thought. Besides, the Guy and I don’t have kids to play in a gravel pit.

I’ve also been super duper wanting a garden.

So one day a few weeks ago, the Guy and I decided to get down to business and start our garden. That involved digging all the gravel out of the box and moving it somewhere else. We originally tried to use a tarp, which ended up with us looking like this:

tarp gravel

It was really heavy. And it was hard. We decided that we should get a wheelbarrow. Our neighbor didn’t have one to borrow, so we ended up having to buy one and then put it together.

By that time it was pouring. But at least we had a wheelbarrow!

wheel barrow

Then we had to put dirt in. We bought lots and lots of dirt. I didn’t really understand, because I thought dirt was just dirt. But not all dirt is equal! What we have is more like clay. And we needed dirt. Lots and lots and lots of it. So then we mixed in the dirt with our clay, which was also hard work, and then finally I got to plant my plants!

WP_20140608_007

I already had the tomato plants, so those were transplanted in. In the pots are green onions, and then I have snap peas, daikon, cilantro, basil, and chives. And this is what it looked like as of yesterday:

WP_20140629_002

I think that the left side of our garden gets more sun so the things grow better. I’m not sure. The herbs aren’t growing as well as the vegetables and tomato fruit. Or are snap peas fruit as well? Is daikon a vegetable or a root? Gah. So confusing. Plants. They are all plants. I do know that for sure. Our snap peas were falling over and climbing each other, so we figured they needed something to climb on. The frames seem to be helping, but we only put them in a few days ago. We’ll see, I guess.

And look! A tomato! It’s very exciting.

WP_20140629_004

 

Whew, I’d forgotten how much work it is to illustrate for posts….

3 thoughts on “Galloping gardens!

  1. Pingback: Maude Adjustments | Life's Homilies

Say something! Make me laugh!

