Marriage is like a Steak


So the Guy and I were having a conversation the other day. (We actually have conversations often.) We are coming up on our one year anniversary and we were discussing if we would still be considered newlyweds after our first year of marriage. The Guy said that we might be considered newlyweds even after two years of marriage. I don’t know when someone, or some couple, transitions from newlywed into anything else. And what does it transition into anyways?

It seems like people only discuss newlyweds and old married couples. What comes after newlywed? Just… wed? How come no one talks about what comes after newlywed? Or at least, maybe I’ve never been around when people have discussed it before.

Anyways. I came up with a brilliant idea and told the Guy that marriage is like a steak. It goes from rare, medium rare, medium, medium well, and then well done. Well, maybe it gets to burnt, too. I don’t know. When you’re first married it’s rare, and then goes through the different stages until you have a well done marriage. And then you can say, “Well done on our marriage!” Or something along those lines.

Doesn’t that make sense? The Guy didn’t think it made much sense. But if your marriage is bringing you through the oven of transformation, then I would assume some cooking is going on and then one day you’re well done! But then I was thinking that if someone did not enjoy well done steak, they might not think that a well done marriage is necessarily a good thing. In fact, they may enjoy their steak rare and therefore want a rare marriage. I guess the analogy kind of falls apart if that is the case.

Anyways. Regardless, I think the Guy and I are still rare steak.

Rare Steak

Say something! Make me laugh!

