What is Education? Chapter 7


Chapter 7.

I really like this chapter on “Education as a Moral Enterprise.” In reading it, I felt an echo within me that this is why I wanted to become a teacher, and this is the kind of teacher that I want to be. Our priority should be to form our students rather than simply informing them. My teachers had an impact on me–shaping me–and I want to have the same effect on my students as well. I had genuine relationships with most of my teachers. After my 4th/5th grade teacher retired, she and I wrote letters to each other. I still maintain a good relationship with all of my junior high and high school teachers. They were interested in me as a person, not just an object of their instruction. That is why this idea of “mutual recognition” spoke to me. My teachers had a great influence on me, and I would like to “never lose sight of that potential aspect of our influence.” (90)

In the section where Jackson discusses the role of love in education, I thought it was interesting how he partitioned these feelings into three categories: love for who one is teaching, love for what one is teaching, and love for how one is teaching. There is a combination between the three and that love determines what kind of a teacher one is. This kind of love means that one is striving to reach something higher, something better. This is why we want to reach perfection. Because we love it. Because it matters to us. And this is why education then becomes a moral endeavor. We are not trying to maintain the status quo, we are trying to make things better.

Say something! Make me laugh!

