Catastrophic Cooking Begins!


As of today, I have successfully posted every posting day for a week! I know that’s not that much. But still! Compared to what I had been doing before… I’d say I’m doing pretty swell.

So what have I been up to all day at home? Same ole, same ole. Our living room is in order though! That calls for a big huzzah! And our kitchen is getting in shape. Besides doing that… well. To be honest, I’ve kind of been slacking off. Not so motivated these past couple of days regarding getting things in order. But I was looking for my cookbooks today and I can’t find them! They’ve got to be somewhere.

Cookbooks are relevant to this blog. Because today, I am using a crock-pot for the very first time. (Also a wedding gift!) And it is my very own crock pot. I guess we’ll see how well I cook on it. (In it? With it? Not sure what the proper preposition is.) And since I’ve never used a crock-pot before, I’ve been going over there every half an hour or so and peering inside. You can’t see anything happen in there! I think that must be the most frustrating part. But something is (I hope). And it’s slow. (Maybe because I put it on the low setting.) We shall see how it turns out.

I really don’t like food blogs. Mainly because I don’t like eating that much–not in an anorexic way. Eating is just a chore. But I do it anyways because if I don’t, I will wind up dead (by the way, my mouth blisters are all better. Nothing green going on. So I am not wasting away.) Therefore, I have absolutely refused to post about food. (Or at least, I don’t think I have yet.) That and I’m not really into the whole taking pictures of food, unless it’s a special occasion or the food is super special.

And I also really don’t like how people obsess about food. It’s just food. (Obviously I’m not a foodie.) Of course it’s a plus if it’s delicious and tastes wonderful–but the obsession… I don’t know. I guess I just don’t understand. It’s just something you put in your mouth and hope it tastes good. And hope that it will sustain you and give you enough energy until the next meal. Sometimes you eat it because you want something cold, or something sweet, or something spicy. But the whole food obsession… I’m not into it. I eat it. Besides thinking about how to replicate the good stuff at home… I don’t really think too much about what I’m eating. Another major anti-food blog reason. (Actually, this paragraph requires a disclaimer, because sometimes I really, really like certain kinds of food. It’s just delicious. But if it’s too much work to obtain said foods, then I won’t bother. And I won’t take pictures of it unless it’s stunning. Or interesting looking. Or if it’s a super special occasion. I just do not photograph every single thing I eat.)

But here’s the thing. I’m now a wife (still adjusting to the idea), and part of traditional wife-ing is cooking. Of course I could be a non-traditional wife, but that’s not exactly how I was raised. And it’s not that I don’t like to cook, because I really do like feeding people. I just don’t like eating food myself. I don’t mind eating with people. Having company is great. I just don’t like eating when it interrupts my day (which is basically all the time). But if it’s a separate event that I schedule for (like an eating outing or something), that’s totally cool. I guess I don’t schedule my regular meals in but maybe I should?

The point that I’m trying to make is that I might start blogging about food. Because I will be cooking more (most likely). If it’s something I do regularly, then I might as well write about my adventures with it. Like how I threw a cup of cold water into a pan of sizzling hot oil today. I’d never done that before and there was quite a… how would I put it? Spattering, smoking, billowing, etc. I had to open the windows and turn on the fan to blow the smoke outside. At least I didn’t burn myself. And how I keep peering into the crock pot, but it’s all steamy now so I can’t really see what’s going on even though I highly doubt that there is much going on in there anyways. Why can’t cooking in a crock-pot look more exciting?!

Whatever.

I’m going to start blogging about food. Against my strange morals about food blogs. Hopefully the food will be delicious, my cooking won’t burn the apartment down, and my posts just as entertaining (see category title).

Say something! Make me laugh!

