I Was Depressed. Then I Got Over It.


The title pretty much summarizes last night. Okay! That’s all I needed for my post! Done!

Just kidding.

The title is a summary. Here’s what happened:

Hunger pangs began around 5 o’clock. If you were following me, you would have known that. I went home and around 6:00-6:30 p.m., I was cheerily finishing up washing vegetables and ready to cook. I was so hungry. Right at that opportune time, the electricity went out. I groaned. It flicked back on for a second and then turned off again. And stayed off.

You know that moment when everything is really bright and then suddenly it’s dark and so it seems especially dark because your eyes haven’t yet adjusted to the darkness yet? That was last night for me. I stood at the kitchen sink and thought, “Wasn’t the electricity supposed to go out at 10 p.m.?”

I had received a notice earlier in the week that said they were doing some maintenance and that the lights would go out at 10 p.m., and from what I remember, the electricity would be off throughout the night. It wouldn’t have been a big deal if it went out at 10 because I could just go to bed early. But at 6:30, I was ravenous, and the lights were off, and I didn’t want to cook in the dark, and the stove was still going, and… it just made me upset.

The owners of the house where I now live have flashlights in various places of the house. I’m not sure why. Maybe for moments like these. I felt around in all the different places where they usually keep the flashlights. Nothing. I began groping around for my phone, but I couldn’t remember where I had put it. I finally found it.

My first instinct was to call my friend, but I knew they were having a family thing, so I didn’t want to bother them. Then I thought about calling a couple that I knew, but they weren’t home. And then I thought about another family, but I knew that their evenings are usually really, really busy. So I sat on the stairs and was depressed.

In case you haven’t noticed, I have a pretty wild imagination. Thus, I began to think of all the terrible scenarios where something awful could happen to me. I thought about hiding in a corner of the house in the dark and was really sad. Maybe extra sad because I was so hungry. I didn’t realize that being hungry makes me sad. But I suppose it makes sense.

After about a few minutes of misery, I shook myself out of it and told myself not to be ridiculous (I have to do that sometimes) because there are plenty, plenty, plenty people that I know who live in the area who would be perfectly fine with me coming over to use their electricity. Basically, I wanted to be somewhere where I wouldn’t have to sit in the dark. That was my main problem. And not be hungry anymore. That was important too.

So I called up one of the girls that I take care of in my youth groupish thing because I knew that she is often left home by herself while her parents are working. I ended taking her out to dinner and then going over there to spend the rest of the evening. It was fine. I had fun.

So… there you have it. I was depressed. Then I got over it.

Oh, yes. And the electricity was back on by the time I got home so everything was fine.

Say something! Make me laugh!

