The Beginning of the Nonsense


According to my friend, weddings are ridiculous and make absolutely no sense at all. For the most part, I agree that weddings are ridiculous. But I am having one, so… I don’t know where that puts me. I guess I am ridiculous. If you’ve been reading my blog that much is pretty obvious. I suppose ya’ll can now follow me on my planning the wedding adventure nonsense!

I’ve recently learned that the first part of having a wedding is getting a venue (among a few other things). Apparently people start planning their weddings and making their reservations for a venue up two a couple years beforehand. I don’t seem to have that luxury as I might be getting married in the summer. Well, okay. I am getting married. It will most likely be in the summer. I guess that’s the way it should be put.

Because of the short time amount of time between… now and the wedding, I have been scrambling to find a proper wedding locale. As per the idea of ridiculous-ness, there are some ridiculous wedding venues. Actually, I should rephrase that. I came across one particular wedding venue that had an ill-fitting name and I thought it quite ridiculous.

By now you must be wondering what the name of this particular wedding venue is. The name of the place is “Harlot.” I’m not kidding. Why would you want to get married at some place called Harlot? I was discussing this matter with my friend, and she said that if one were to have a wedding there, maybe you could just say, “Oh, I’m getting married at the Harlot (pronounced har-lo).” I suppose that one would not necessarily be scandalized that you were getting married at the Harlot unless one were to see it in print. And perhaps there would be a good number of people who have no idea what the word harlot means. Perhaps only a select few would be scandalized. Perhaps you would not want to invite those select few. I don’t know. Either way I don’t think it’s a very choice place to hold your wedding simply because of the name. Maybe it is actually a lovely venue. But… I don’t believe I will be holding my wedding there.

In other news, I would really like to get married in an aquarium. Or in a science museum. Or maybe on a farm. Or maybe in the backyard where the koi are so they can attend my wedding as well (as my friend so kindly suggested, as the koi might be offended if they were not invited).

Say something! Make me laugh!

