Investigating Investigative Investigations (Part 2)


As promised, here is part two of that exciting episode of my life. For those who didn’t read the previous post, let me give you a short recap. If you imagine the beginning of a soap opera drama, it would be spoken by some man with a mysteriously deep and dramatic voice with some kind of intense music playing in the background. At least, that’s what I imagine. I’m not really into daytime soap operas. I think they’re stupid. Anyways, here we go.

Recap:

Last week, Sheri found a business card in her door. It was shady. It had a strange note on the back. She wondered what she would do.

End of recap.

Wasn’t that thrilling? Back to the story.

I was sitting at my desk the next morning looking at the business card and wondering what to do. Was this a legitimate organization that actually had reasons to ask me about my neighbors? Or was it simply some terrible ploy by a mysterious third party that wanted information but drew in innocent bystanders (me) into some nefarious plot by asking them for information? Who is this person? What did they want? (Note: This is a dramatization of the actual thoughts in my head. I’m not sure all that went through my head. But it was close enough.)

So I decided to call the number. It rang. No one picked up. It went to voicemail. I hung up, thinking that it was interesting that it seemed to go to a personal cell phone rather than an actual business agency.

I went back to my work, thinking that maybe I would call again later in the day.

After lunch I found myself studying the business card again as the same questions were running through my head. I asked my friend if I should call. I described the situation. She was very unhelpful and said something along the lines of, “Auo.” Actually, I think that’s exactly what she said, though she did agree that it was indeed quite suspicious.

I called again. Still no answer.

A few minutes later, she returned my phone call.

Want to know what it was really about? Come back again! Mwahahaha.

One thought on “Investigating Investigative Investigations (Part 2)

Say something! Make me laugh!

