Engineering Points


This morning I found that a button on my dryer was broken. I was very displeased since I found this out after I had done a load in the wash. Double displeasure. Why? Because my things (sheets and such) would sit in the dryer waiting for that button to be fixed so that they could get dried. Which means they’ll get moldy and smelly in the meantime. I tried to wiggle the button back so it would work again, but no such luck. But I was also afraid of doing more because I have notoriously bad relations with general machinery. So I called the office in our complex (no one picked up) and then wrote an email (no response) and so then I was triply displeased.

So what does this have to do with engineers?

I’ve decided that as one who studied history, I probably have negative machine points. Maybe -5. Five points may not seem like much to you, but I’ve decided to average it out because I’m fairly knowledgeable about certain types of machinery, but I just seem to have a knack for breaking things.

Engineers on the other hand, probably have positive machine points. But as I was discussing this subject with my friend, I realized that there are a great number of engineers. To name a few, there are:

  • Aerospace engineers
  • Agricultural engineers
  • Audio engineers
  • Bioengineering engineers
  • Biochemical engineers
  • Biological engineers
  • Biomedical engineers
  • Ceramic and material engineers
  • Chemical engineers
  • Civil engineers
  • Computer engineers
  • Electrical engineers
  • Environmental engineers
  • Geological engineers
  • Geophysical engineers
  • Industrial engineers
  • Manufacturing engineers
  • Marine and ocean engineers
  • Mechanical engineers
  • Mining engineers
  • Nuclear engineers
  • Petroleum engineers

I got that all from the National Engineering Week Foundation’s website. I didn’t know there was such a thing. But then there are also semi-psuedo engineering, or even just pseudo engineering such as:

  • Sanitation engineer
  • Social engineer
  • Financial engineer
  • Political engineer
  • Traffic engineer
  • Graphics engineer
  • Video engineer
  • Fireworks engineer
  • Plant engineer
  • Construction engineer

Basically, almost any word I put with engineer came up with some sort of occupation. The except was “book,” which just gave me books about engineering. I wonder why there aren’t any book engineers out there.

So what was my point? If you can remember back to the top, the point is that if you’re an engineer, you’re probably good with machines. I’m not so sure about semi-psuedo engineers though. Although if you read this helpful article on what engineering is, I guess you can apply it to the ones that I mentioned in the second list. I guess.

Umm… I had this whole argument thought out in my head about engineering points, but after working so hard on getting those lists together, and being so fascinated by all the different kinds of engineering, I’ve more or less forgotten what I was going to write. I think I was going to correlate the different engineers to the different machine points that they would get. But that sounds like so much work, and I’m tired now, so you can just imagine it for yourself.

But I’m still fascinated with all the different kinds of engineers. But I did have an engineer look at my dryer, and she didn’t fix it either. So I’m questioning her engineering points right now. ::question, question, question::

One thought on “Engineering Points

  1. Well, I didn’t have a screwdriver on me and you didn’t offer me one. I can only do so much without tools. Besides, if I broke it maintenance probably would have said that you voided a warranty or something and refused to do anything at all. You do know that I void warranties.

Say something! Make me laugh!

