Mush!


Definitions of the word “mush” include:

  1. A journey, especially by dogsled.
  2. A thick porridge or pudding or cornmeal boiled in water or milk.
  3. To drive (a dogsled or team of dogs).
  4. Something thick, soft, and pulpy.
  5. To travel, especially over snow with a dogsled.
  6. Mawkish sentimentality, affection, or amorousness.
  7. Used to command a team of dogs to begin pulling or moving faster.

Wild guess as to what I might be talking about today?

If you guessed 1, 3, 5, or 7, I would say that you win a prize! Except I have no prize to give. So sad. So actually, you don’t win a prize. You just get to feel self-satisfied that you guessed correctly. Do you feel it yet?

Anyways. Recently, I’ve been struck by an overwhelming (not as in the overwhelm) desire to go dog sledding.

Why dog sledding? I don’t know. If you could answer that question, you’d have more insight into the psyche of Sheri than I do. And that would be weird and uncanny and kind of scary. I hope you don’t have the answer. I’ve never been dog sledding, so it’s not like a fond memory that I’m reminiscing over and suddenly thought that I would like to have that experience again. Perhaps it’s precisely because I’ve never gone dog sledding before that I would very much like to go. Anyways. I think what follows might be somewhat of an explanation as to why I really want to go dog sledding.

I’ve been really wanting a dog for the past few weeks. Because practically as of now, I probably won’t be able to have a dog, I’ve considered the possibility of owning either a cat, a bunny, a turtle, some hamsters, some fish, or a bird. But they’re really not quite the same as a dog.

And besides, I used to have a husky named Cabal. In fact, we’ve had a few dogs, but Cabal is the one I remember the most. Here is a really flattering picture of me with my dog.

So flattering, I know. What if my face was stuck like that forever?

Here is a better picture of just my dog.

Ain't he so pretty? I misses him.

Jon, Andy, and I all really wanted a husky. Why? I’m not sure. Anyways, my parents kindly acquiesced to our fervent pleas and got us a purebred husky! Huzzah! You can’t tell from this picture, but he had one blue eye and one brown eye. And he was beautiful. So why did we name him Cabal? Actually, Jon picked the name. Cabal was the name of King Arthur’s dog. And King Arthur was super cool. And we are super cool too (obviously). So we stole the name of his dog. It’s okay because King Arthur is dead anyways. (Unless the tales of him coming back at some later date is true, and he might get angry that we took the name of his dog, and then he would come and slay us, except for the fact that we no longer own Cabal, so maybe he won’t.)

Cabal was really playful puppy and also pretty massive (huskies are big dogs). He always wanted to play, but kids were afraid of him because he was so big. He probably would have knocked them over if he jumped on them anyways. He was always trying to run through my legs, but I used to wear long skirts as part of my uniform in school, so he would just run into the material. Somehow, that wouldn’t stop him from trying though. Despite that, he was a really, really smart dog. Also, Cabal really liked to swim. He would always jump into the pool when we were trying to get him to do anything. He also liked to swim with us and would dog paddle toward us and then claw our bare skins with his paws as he tried to hug(?) us. So much fun. Anyways. Then our parents moved away, sold the house, and we had to give Cabal away. Sadness.

I miss my dog. I want another dog. I would very much like to have another husky.

But huskies remind me of dog sledding, and I really want to go dog sledding. And yesterday, dog sledding reminds me of Balto, the film, not the real dog, because when I was a kid, I didn’t know much about the real dog, but I loved the film. So it made me want to watch the movie, but my parents have it in Taiwan, and that is rather hard to access right now. So I probably won’t be watching it any time soon. In the movie, Balto is a wolf-dog (even though in real life, Balto was actually a pure-bred husky). So that made me look up wolf-dog. Which led me to Jack London’s The Call of the Wild, which I also read yesterday. (This is all in a day’s work, by the way. But The Call of the Wild isn’t that long of a book, and I am a fast reader, so no problem there.) Then after reading that, I really wanted a wolf-dog, but it probably wouldn’t work out so well, so I wouldn’t mind settling for just a husky.

And… I still want to go dog sledding. And I still want a dog, preferably a husky, although I might settle for any large, friendly, furry, intelligent dog. My friend wants a Tamaskan, and I agree that they are also very beautiful. I wouldn’t mind having one of those. However, I will probably not be able to have a dog for a while, so that makes me sad. But maybe, just maybe I can go dog sledding. My friend has kindly volunteered her Great German Shepherd named Yaris to pull me in a sled with wheels. That’s probably the closest I’ll get to dog sledding in southern California. It’s not quite the same thing, but I just might settle for that. I’m sure it would be quite an adventure. And I am always up for an adventure.

3 thoughts on “Mush!

Say something! Make me laugh!

