Eureka! I’ve found it!


Eureka is Greek for “I have found it!” So when people say, “Eureka! I’ve found it!” they’re just being repetitive and want undeserved attention. Or maybe they’re over enthused (possibly rightly so), and want to tell the world that indeed, they have really found it. But I guess it doesn’t matter, because the last time I heard someone exclaim, “Eureka! I’ve found it!” was in a cartoon. I think.

The point of all that is, I found something today!

Today, I found the Fullerton Arboretum. I never knew such a thing even existed.

Now, you have to realize, I grew up in southern California. Fullerton is right next door (figuratively speaking). Yes, I went away to college for four years, but I’ve been living in Orange County for about 18 years, and I never even knew this place existed. To know about a place and never have gone is one thing (that’s about most places in Orange County for me), but to not even know it was there this whole time?! I’m a little boggled by that.

Anyhow, it’s a very nice place to talk a walk. It’s got plenty of both sun and shade and lots of interesting plants. Some of the ones that I was particularly amused by are posted below here. I recommend it! Did I mention it was free?

And here we go!

It's a flower. In case you couldn't tell. I know, it's a little difficult.

When I first say this plant with these buds, the first thing that I thought of were the worm-monster-dinosaur things from Tremors. Doesn’t it look like it? (I’ve seen the entire series several times. What does that make me?)

This is what it looks like in bloom:

Those tail thingies are still behind it. So interesting.

For some reason, I really like these flowers. I really don’t know why. Maybe it is because of Tremors.

Next up are some funny looking trees. They look so odd! I love it.

The trunk! So fun! It looks like a mountain that erupted into trees.

And one more!

It's called a Queensland Bottle-Tree.

My grandma and mom said that it has three eyes.

This one made me really happy, for some strange reason.

This is either an overgrown artichoke or a mutated rose. And last one, because this is a lot of pictures, I know.

So interesting looking...

I like to call this last one the lipstick plant. Because it looks like tubes of lipstick all stuck together on a tree.

Okay, all done!

One thought on “Eureka! I’ve found it!

Say something! Make me laugh!

